A Year in the Fulbright Life: Reham’s Story

FulbrightMENA
5 min readFeb 24, 2021

--

For the next year, Fulbright MENA will be showcasing a handful of students as they study in the United States with their new series, A Year in the Fulbright Life. Each month, spotlighted students will share an update as they continue on their Fulbright journey.

July 2018

“One of the best parts of packing for a new adventure is shopping for gifts! I’m excited to give my future friends and professors a piece of art that truly represents where I come from: Egypt- the land of the Pharaohs!

August 2018

The gateway program was an excellent opportunity for me to make friends and meet with people from all over the world, as well as realize our similarities! I believe that we are all a great source of support for each other because we totally understand and appreciate the hardships and challenges we overcame to be where we are now! Be Fulbrighters; Full of Brightness. And I’m 100% sure that the friendships we made through the gateway will last a lifetime because of how unique they are!

The opening game is something I couldn’t miss because I needed to feel the spirit and support the wolf packs of the University of Nevada, Reno! Such enjoyable moment with my friends! Especially after our victory!

Settling in?! Then its time for grocery shopping! I enjoyed my first grocery shopping after I arrived to the United States with my American friend who had helped me a lot! Life is nothing without true friends!

September 2018

As a graduate student, I wanted to take part in the university’s decision-making process, especially in graduate students affairs. Being involved means I represent my fellow students, I channel their voices and deliver their concerns as a Graduate Student Association Council Member representing the college of liberal arts.

Graduate school can be hectic and pressuring, but we also got to make time to take care of our personal health, socialize with friends, and discover new places. I spent one amazing day enjoying Lake Tahoe with my friends. I just live 45 minutes away from one of the most beautiful places in the United States.

October 2018

An important part of the Fulbright experience is cultural engagement through the community. In my local community in Reno, I met the Hunter family and they have been a source of great support to me.

November 2018

We all know that graduate school is so much work, sleepless nights, and a lot of stress, but it all can be solved with a nice gathering with amazing classmates — my Communication Cohort of UNR

Thanksgiving was a wonderful weekend away from the stress of graduate school and assignments. My American family from more than 6 years ago when I was a NESA UGRAD exchange student invited me to visit them in L.A. for Thanksgiving.

Christmas was the time to connect with my best friend and her family and get the real American Christmas experience.

January 2019

One of the perks of living in Reno is that I’m only 4 hours by bus from the beautiful city of San Francisco, which makes it the best destination for a weekend.

“Let it snow in Reno! First time experiencing living in the snow and it is so much fun, except for the icy part!

September 2019

Here is a picture of the perks of living in Reno! I’m 45 minutes away from the most wonderful place on Earth: Lake Tahoe. A great getaway, relaxing and refreshing place to go to cope with grad school stress.

October 2019

I posted on my Facebook page that I was thinking about being Maleficent for Halloween since she is all covered up (almost like a Hijabi). The next day I received a message from my professor that he is buying the costume for me. This is my very first Halloween costume and I got it as a gift.

One of the amazing things about grad school is maintaining good relationships with professors. The student-professor relationship in most U.S. universities is open and supportive. I appreciate my professors and the support they are willing to provide. This is a photo of me with my advisor and his wife who have both been so supportive.

I get to take advantage of being on the west coast of the country. I enjoyed a weekend away from grad school stress in Washington State. These are the Snoqualmie Falls.

I had the pleasure of meeting the President of the University of Nevada, Reno, as part of the student leadership program on campus. I represented the College of Liberal Arts and Journalism on the Graduate Student Association Council. We talked about the representation of the international students on campus and the challenges they face. I spoke especially about the Muslim student population.

Reeham is a first-year Fulbrighter from Egypt. She is working on her Masters in Communications at the University of Nevada.

“Follow updates from Reeham and other Fulbright students on our Facebook and Twitter pages. Check back here every month for more updates on the blog and Medium Series to see what Reeham does this year!

--

--