A Year in the Fulbright Life: Esraa’s Story

FulbrightMENA
4 min readNov 3, 2022

--

Fulbright MENA showcases a handful of students as they study in the United States with their series, A Year in the Fulbright Life. Throughout the year, spotlighted students will share updates as they fulfill their Fulbright journey.

August 2022

Saying goodbye to my family, friends, and country was not easy. At that moment I had lots of mixed feelings. I was emotional, because I was both leaving my family and beginning a journey where I’d make new memories.

From Egypt to the U.S

My ultimate goal is to leave a positive mark on the world. And as there is no limit for my dream as I embark on a new adventure with a new country and a new home.

Being a master’s student in Climate Science and Solutions program at Northern Arizona University, I have a huge opportunity to learn, communicate and gain deep insight into climate change issues and reach solutions that improve our world.

Northern Arizona University campus

I am so proud that I got accepted to the Fulbright Foreign Student Program, one of the most prestigious scholarships in the world. I am so proud to be part of it all! One step closer to my dreams!

Flagstaff, Arizona is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever visited: the weather is perfect; the people are so lovely and amiable; the environment is amazing, and the natural scenes are incredibly charming.

Flagstaff, Arizona

Communicating and making new friends with different backgrounds and perspectives means opening yourself more to the whole world. With this, the journey becomes easier and funnier. I enjoy my time with my American roommates. I love them so much! Through cooking and sharing our perspectives, we exchange our culture.

My roomates and I

Working out and lifting weights is my favorite part of the day. My American friend Lia joined me in the gym.

Working out

Chick-Fil-A is one of the most popular American restaurants in Flagstaff. The chicken sandwiches are very tasty, and the restaurant offers a great view!

Chick-Fil-A

September 2022

I was beyond delighted to get the chance to present in a Local Conference of Youth (LCOY USA) during the side events at Drexel University of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The presentation was about the science of climate change and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. LCOY is an event under the umbrella of YOUNGO, the official youth constituency of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

Presenting at the Local Conference of Youth

I was able to spend some time in Philadelphia! What a beautiful place.

Philadelphia

I was invited to dinner at the house of one of my American friends. Her dad made us the most delicious food ever.

Dinner with American friends

This was the first time in my life that I’ve seen snow on a mountain peak. I was able to take a picture from the roof of the place that I live!

Sunset

April 20223

I experienced a big moment as a Fulbrighter this month.

I represented youth at the United Nations headquarters in New York at the ECOSOC Youth Forum 2023.

The session was about “Harnessing the Power of Youth Climate Actions for SDGs at COP28” This is the permanent mission of the United Arab Emirates at the United Nations, as the climate conference COP28 will be in Dubai this year.

Speaking at the UN
ECOSOC Youth Forum 2023

Esraa is a 2022 Fulbrighter from Egypt. She studies Climate Science and Solutions at Northern Arizona University-Flagstaff.

Follow updates from Esraa and other Fulbright students on our Facebook and Twitter pages. Check back here every month for more updates on the blog and Medium Series to see what Esraa does this year!

--

--